Kit Review: Pricing, Free Plan Limits, and the Price Shown by Default

Kit’s free plan allows 1,000 subscribers with unlimited email broadcasts, unlimited landing pages and unlimited forms — the most generous free tier of any platform we’ve captured. Its paid entry tier is $39/month billed monthly, not the $33 the pricing page shows on arrival. All figures captured in USD on 4 August 2026 at Kit’s 1,000-subscriber tier.

Captured from Kit’s own pricing page in USD on 4 August 2026, at the 1,000-subscriber tier the page quotes for every plan. Kit was not tested hands-on, so this review makes no claim about deliverability, editor quality, or how the product feels to use. Both billing states were read explicitly rather than accepting the page’s default view — see the first section for why that mattered.

The Price on the Page Isn’t the Monthly Price

Kit’s pricing page loads showing $39/month for Creator and $79/month for Pro — but only if you change something first. On arrival it shows $33 and $66.

The difference is a toggle marked “Pay yearly—save 17%”, which is switched on when the page loads. The figures it produces are annual-prepay effective rates. Nothing in the price label says so.

We caught it by arithmetic rather than by reading. The page advertises a saving of $78 a year on Creator, but $33 × 12 = $396, and $396 − $390 is $6, not $78. The saving only reconciles against a $468 annual total — which is $39 a month. Flipping the toggle confirmed it.

This matters beyond Kit. If you are comparing platforms by opening several pricing pages in tabs, you are not necessarily comparing like with like: each page decides its own default. Check what billing period you are being shown before you write a number down.

The Free Plan Is the Most Generous We’ve Captured

This is the genuinely notable thing about Kit, and it is not a marketing claim — it is a plan limit.

Kit’s free tier carries 1,000 subscribers. MailerLite’s free plan caps at 250, Omnisend’s at 250, and Mailchimp’s below 500. Kit allows four times the list of the nearest of them, and adds unlimited email broadcasts, unlimited landing pages and unlimited forms on top.

It also includes selling digital products and subscriptions on the free tier, plus audience tagging and segmentation. The catch is automation: one basic Visual Automation. A single welcome sequence fits. A second funnel does not.

No credit card is required, and the free plan is permanent rather than a trial — the 14-day trial is a separate thing, applying to the paid tiers.

Kit free planIncluded
Subscribers1,000
Email broadcastsUnlimited
Landing pagesUnlimited
FormsUnlimited
Visual Automations1 (basic)
Tagging & segmentationYes
Sell digital productsYes
Remove Kit brandingNo — Creator tier
Credit card requiredNo
Monthly send ceilingNot stated

What Creator and Pro Actually Cost

Both billing states below were read directly from the page rather than calculated. Kit publishes each of them, which is why this review contains no estimated figures.

PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyStated saving
Newsletter (Free)$0$0
Creator$39/mo$390/yr ($33/mo)$78/yr
Pro$79/mo$790/yr ($66/mo)$158/yr

At 1,000 subscribers. Prices scale with list size. The $33 and $66 figures are Kit’s own display of the annual rate expressed monthly — they are what the page shows before you touch the billing toggle.

There is no introductory promotion. The 17% annual saving is a standing discount, not a first-year rate that later doubles — which makes Kit’s pricing easier to budget against than platforms whose headline figure expires. Creator adds unlimited automations, unlimited sequences, A/B testing on subject lines, SMS marketing and branding removal. Pro adds subscriber engagement scoring, deliverability reporting, unlimited users and priority support.

Who Kit Suits

Anyone building a list from zero. A 1,000-subscriber free ceiling with unlimited sending is a long runway. Most platforms in this category push you to pay somewhere between 250 and 500 subscribers.

Creators selling directly. Digital products and paid subscriptions are on the free tier, not gated behind a commerce add-on. The whole product is oriented that way — the plan tiers are literally named Newsletter, Creator and Pro.

Anyone who wants to know what they’ll pay. Kit publishes its monthly rate and its annual rate, both, for every paid tier. That sounds like a low bar until you look at the rest of the category: Omnisend never prints an ongoing monthly rate at all, and Mailchimp’s headline figures are a 12-month introductory discount.

Who Should Look Elsewhere

Anyone needing more than one automation on a free plan. One basic Visual Automation is the tightest constraint on Kit’s free tier, and it is the thing most likely to force an upgrade well before the subscriber ceiling does.

Businesses that aren’t creator-shaped. A consultancy, a local service business or a B2B software company is paying for positioning it won’t use.

Anyone who needs to compare on integration count. Kit lists “Apps & integrations” as a Creator feature but publishes no number anywhere on its pricing page.

Price-first buyers at small list sizes. Kit’s cheapest paid tier is $39/month at 1,000 subscribers. Several platforms in this category start lower, though at smaller list sizes — which is not the same comparison, and we won’t pretend it is.

What Kit Doesn’t Publish

Four things we looked for and could not establish, listed rather than guessed at.

Any tier below 1,000 subscribers. Kit’s subscriber slider reports a position of 1 on a scale starting at 0, so a smaller tier exists. The control did not respond to keyboard input and we could not read it.

A monthly send ceiling on the free plan. The page says “unlimited email broadcasts”. We are reproducing that wording rather than asserting there is no cap, because a broadcast limit and a send limit are not the same thing.

An SMS rate. SMS marketing is listed as a Creator feature with no per-message price, so it cannot be compared against platforms that publish one.

An integration count. Not stated.

Kit Pricing 2026: What You Actually Pay Monthly

Kit’s pricing page defaults to the yearly view, so the first prices you see — $33 and $66 — are annualised. On monthly billing the same plans are $39 and $79. The annual discount is 17%, the largest in this category, but it requires paying twelve months upfront.

PlanMonthlyBilled yearly (−17%)At 1,000 subscribers
Newsletter (free)$010,000 subscribers, unlimited sends, 1 basic automation, 1 sequence, 1 user
Creator$39$390/yr ($32.50/mo)Unlimited automations and sequences, 2 users, Kit MCP, SMS, RSS campaigns, remove branding
Pro$79$790/yr ($65.83/mo)Unlimited users, Subscriber Signals, engagement scoring, deliverability reporting, custom tracking domain

The free tier is the outlier in this whole category: 10,000 subscribers with no sending limit at all. Kit applies no send cap on any plan, free included. For comparison, MailerLite charges $89/month to carry 10,000 subscribers. What Kit withholds on the free plan is automation — one basic visual automation and one email sequence — plus integrations, RSS campaigns and the ability to remove Kit branding.

Two costs that are easy to miss. Kit charges 3.5% + 30¢ on every transaction for digital products, paid newsletters and subscriptions — on every plan, free included. And Paid Recommendations earnings carry a 23.5% fee. Against that, Kit offers free migration from another platform on any paid plan, rebuilding forms, templates and automations for you, which most competitors do not.

Figures read from Kit’s live pricing page on 8 August 2026 in the USD view at the 1,000-subscriber tier.

Kit Review FAQ

Is Kit’s free plan really free?

Yes, and it is permanent rather than a trial. It allows 1,000 subscribers, unlimited email broadcasts, unlimited landing pages and forms, audience tagging and segmentation, and selling digital products, with no credit card required. It is limited to one basic Visual Automation.

How much does Kit cost per month?

$39/month for Creator and $79/month for Pro at 1,000 subscribers, billed monthly. Paying yearly costs $390 and $790 respectively, which Kit displays as $33 and $66 per month — a 17% saving. Prices scale with subscriber count.

Why does Kit’s pricing page show $33 instead of $39?

The “Pay yearly—save 17%” toggle is switched on by default. The $33 figure is the annual-prepay rate expressed monthly; $39 is what you pay if you are billed month to month. Nothing in the price label marks it as discounted.

How does Kit’s free plan compare to other platforms?

On subscriber count it is by far the most generous we have captured: up to 10,000, against 250 on MailerLite, 250 on Omnisend and 250 on Mailchimp. On automation it is among the tightest, at one basic visual automation and one email sequence.

Does Kit offer free migration?

Yes, for creators on a paid plan. Kit states its team handles subscriber lists and automations. No turnaround time is published, and the service is not offered on the free tier.

Is Kit the same as ConvertKit?

Yes. Kit is ConvertKit’s current name following a rebrand. Older reviews and comparisons elsewhere may still use the previous name.

Final Verdict

We have not used Kit, so we publish no rating. What we can say is what its own pricing page states, checked in both billing states.

Kit’s free plan is the strongest entry point in this category on subscriber count, and its paid pricing is the most transparently published we have captured — both rates, no expiring introductory discount, no arithmetic required on the reader’s part. Set against that, the free tier’s single automation is a real ceiling, the entry paid price of $39/month is not the cheapest in the category, and the product is unambiguously built for creators rather than businesses generally.

If you are starting a list and want room to grow before paying, Kit is the most obvious candidate here. If you need several automations running, budget for Creator from the start rather than treating the free plan as a long-term home.

Alternatives

See our MailerLite (see also our MailerLite vs Kit comparison), Mailchimp, Brevo and Omnisend, beehiiv and ActiveCampaign reviews, or the best email marketing software guide for how the category compares. Direct Kit comparisons are in progress; because Kit prices at a 1,000-subscriber tier and the others were captured at 250–500, each comparison requires re-capturing its counterpart at the same list size rather than reusing an existing figure.

How this vendor presents its prices, set against six competitors captured the same day, is covered in our pricing-page audit.

Disclosure

RightToolHQ has no active affiliate relationship with Kit at the time of writing, and this page contains no affiliate links. If that changes, this notice will be updated and any affiliate link clearly disclosed. See our editorial policy and affiliate disclosure.